> ## Knowledge Base Index
> Fetch the complete knowledge base index at: https://help.jomo.so/sitemap.xml
> Use this file to discover available pages before exploring further.
> Pure-Markdown content can be obtained by appending a '.md' suffix to the content URLs listed in the sitemap (without the trailing slash).

# How to block apps without Apple's Screen Time?

By default, **Jomo uses Apple’s Screen Time to block apps**. You select an app to block, and Jomo sends this information to Screen Time, which grays out the app and makes it inaccessible. However, **there are some drawbacks**:

* Certain apps (Settings, Apple Health, etc.) can’t be blocked.
* You won’t receive notifications from blocked apps.
* Blocking popular apps like YouTube or Instagram also blocks their websites, which might not be what you want.

**Luckily, there’s another method**. Using Apple’s Shortcuts app, we’ll create an automation that triggers each time you open the app to block. It will check if your selected rule in Jomo is active. If it is, you’ll be redirected from the blocked app to Jomo. Here’s a step-by-step guide:‎
‎
---

In Jomo, add your blocking rule (session, limit, etc.). **DO NOT SELECT THE APP YOU WANT TO BLOCK IN JOMO**. If needed, add a website you don’t use to validate the rule, as it cannot be left empty. The rest happens in the Shortcuts app:

1. Open the *Shortcuts* app
2. Tap *Automation > +* (top right)
3. From the list, choose *App*
4. Next to *App*, tap *Choose*. **SELECT THE APP YOU WANT TO BLOCK HERE.**
5. Choose *Is Open*, then check *Run Immediately*
6. Tap Next
7. On the new screen, tap *Create Blank Automation*
8. In the search bar at the bottom, type *Redirect to Jomo If Rule Named … Is Blocking*
9. Enter the name of the rule in Jomo that determines whether the app is blocked or not.
10. Then confirm by tapping Done. Voilà!

Now, if the rule specified in the automation is currently blocking access and you open the target app, you will be automatically redirected to Jomo. With this method, you can block any app, notifications are preserved, and only access to the app (not the website) is restricted.

${youtube}[Video Tutorial](9CXCWLWZbTk)